PDA

View Full Version : Compare two date column in different sheets, return adjacent value in matched dates

abs7
02-27-2019, 10:09 AM
I have zero coding experience and am new to VBA, so I don’t even know basics, but giving it a shot. I have a Workbook, with multiple sheet in it. The one that I care about are 2 sheets called DG, and Asp. DG has a button that grabs raw data from a server and populates the sheets ( multiple date columns with data value in adjacent cells). Asp has a button that grabs data as well but on a 30-day avg so every day in a month (columns A in Asp). This is the same case with DG sheet, but DG has data from different dates in a month, because it is not a 30 day pull. So that sets an image for you, now what I want to do is create a button, with a code that can go through a date column in DG and match it with a date from asp date and if there is a match, then copy and paste the adjacent cells values in DG to asp. oh and date format for DG is yyyy-mm-dd - hh:min while Asp date format is dd-mmm-yyyy-hh:min. I am okay with changing the format in Asp to match DG if it makes code easier, and time can be ignored. i just want the data the dates match to be copied to Asp
here is what i have so far from help on other forums.
https://www.ozgrid.com/forum/filedata/fetch?filedataid=74072&type=full
https://www.ozgrid.com/forum/filedata/fetch?filedataid=74073&type=full

Private Sub CommandButton2_Click()

Sheets("Aspen").Range("A2", "A150").NumberFormat = "yyyy-mm-dd"

Dim ws1 As Worksheet
Dim ws2 As Worksheet
Dim lrow2 As Long
Dim lrow1 As Long
Dim firstDataRow1 As Double
Dim firstDataRow2 As Double

Dim matchRange As Range
Dim matchRow As Long

Dim i As Long

'Set up your Worksheet variables
Set ws1 = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("DG")
Set ws2 = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Asp")

'You used A5 several times, so I will assume dates are in Col A and start at row 5
'Set your row with first data, maybe you need two, if they are the same on both sheets you don't