PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Userform Text box question

Chukesgirl
08-09-2004, 03:25 PM
Hi All
I am very new to Word 2000 VBA and I have created a template that has a custom userform. In one of the fields on the userform, I have a blank text box for the the user's name to be inserted. I would like her name to be inserted, by default, from a tiny text file located on the c drive, however, on a few occassions, the user has to type one of her boss's names in this field, so will I be able to do this and if so can someone give me a sample of some code to tell me how or point me in the right direction? :dunno Thanks.

jamescol
08-09-2004, 04:11 PM
Let us know what the format of your file is, and we can supply you with some code. Also, you can also populate the textbox with the current user's name using the code:

textbox1.value = Application.UserName

This code will use the Name tab from User Information box under Tools | Options.

James

Chukesgirl
08-10-2004, 09:39 AM
Thanks for the quick response! I have the user's name in a notepad .txt file. When you say I can populate the text box, can I populate it with the user's name as well as all of her bosses? I thought I would need a combo box for that.

jamescol
08-10-2004, 03:36 PM
You application can determine the user's name automatically, but not a list of her supervisors. If her supervisor information is stored in a database or Windows Active Directory, you can programmatically retrieve rather than use a text file.

Once you have the information, it is simple to place it in separate textboxes or a listbox or combobox. You just need to determine what owrks best in your application.

I assume your notepad.txt file simply contains the user's name without any other formatting, and that there is no other text in the file. If so, you can use the following sample to read the name from the file.

Just replace the path and filename in the example with what you are using.

Sub ReadCSV()