PDA

View Full Version : New to VBA - Need help with Word

LukeA
01-04-2006, 03:10 AM
Hi Guys,

I've done some dev. work with VB.net, but this is my first attempt in working with VBA.

I'm working on a mail merge document, which at the moment works perfectly.

What I am trying to do is get the document to save as a certain name (taken from the mail merge doc), and then email to a specific email address with the subject line partly taken also from the mail merged doc.

At the moment, I can get the document to save as a file and then attach to an email and send.

I am struggling with getting the field info out of the doc and into the VBA code.
I.E.
I want the subject line of the header to be:
"Certificate for Order No: " & order_no field - how do I code the order_no field text?
The same applies then for saving the document. I need it to save in the following format (each part is a field on the doc)
ProductName_StartBatch_EndBatch.doc
I.E. ABC123_123A_123D.doc

I assume this is possible, I just need some pointers.

Thanks for your help.
Regards,
Luke

Killian
01-04-2006, 03:29 AM
Hi Luke and welcome to VBAX :hi:

You can get to them via the Fields collection. AFAIK, members can only be referred to by index. So you can get a look at what you've got in the Immediate window with:Dim f As Field

For Each f In ActiveDocument.Fields
Debug.Print f.Index & vbTab & f.Result.Text
Next

LukeA
01-04-2006, 03:59 AM
Thanks Killian, I'll see what I can do with that.

Now for something else...I said I've managed to code it so that it will save the document and add it as an attachment to an email (Outlook XP).

Is it possible to use a variable to add more than one attachment?

For example, instead of sending 3 emails for the same order, if the order number is part of the name of the saved file, and this is then stored, can you do;

Attachments.Add Where Order_No is shown in folder.files FileName