PDA

View Full Version : VBA - Set background color (and text) according to column in another dataset

UronDidas
09-12-2019, 01:03 PM
Hi,

I have to admit that I am a beginner in VBA. I need a VBA tool to set the background color and text in a column according to a specific comparison to a number column in another dataset.

I have two excel files. One is the source, the other the result. They both have more than one sheet, however, only the one which opens when the file is double-clicked is important (but would be great to somehow tell the vba how the sheet to be used is named, so that I do not have to delete the other sheets in the worksheet in order to get the vba running).

Source file: (C:\Source.xlsx)

Result file: (C:\Result.xlsx)

The "Result.xlsx" file already exists, however here column action in the result folder is filled to help explain how the calculated result should look like. This would be empty. But the other columns are existing already.

I want to create a VBA excel file, which I put into the same folder as the source and the result file. The VBA file should run when I click on generate and fill the action column according to specific rules (see picture below how I imagine it could look like, or also attached):

1.) The main point is to fill in the action column in the result file, depending on the number column in the source file for each specific ID. So the calculation needs to be done for the matching ID.

if the number is empty then fill in the number column in the source file with "Text B" and yellow background color.
if number is smaller than threshold 1 (but not empty, 0 is also accepted as a valid number) leave the field in the action column empty
if number is larger (or equal) to the threshold 1, put into "Text A" with orange background-color