PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Shell( .exe with input files)

Huibert
09-19-2019, 05:07 AM
Hi to all,

I am an engineer and not a programmer, but I don't like to do things repetively, so I learned some programming by searching forums like this. But in this instance I can't find my solution.

The problem should be simple to solve imho, but yet it's solution keeps eluding me.

I have a program that solves (a specific) higher order differential equation, this is an executable (.exe). This executable is nothing more than a C++ script that opens cmd, get's some input from 3 .dat files, performs it's magic, generates 3 output .txt files, and waits for a keystroke to terminate cmd.
My idea is to have an excelsheet that containts serveral input variables (up to 200 cases). Within this excel i wrote a VBA routine that loops through all the seperate cases; generate the required input .dat files; run the executable; closes the cmd by a forced keystroke; read the output files; and finally store the important results back into excel.

ps. both the excelworkbook, the executable and the input and output files are currently in the same folder

Everything works like a charm,..... as long as I have all the required files in the default cmd folder. C:\users\name.
As soon as this is not the case the .exe script won't read the input .dat files and my idea comes to a halt.

So the question:
how can I set the cmd to a temporary default map, or how can I append the shell command so that the .exe starts looking into the current filepath for it's input.

I have posted my code that handles a single instance, the porblem is in the -4 line from the end.

Sub Stokes_Solver()'' all values have to be generalized
LATmin = Excel.ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("wave data").Range("L19").Value
surge = Excel.ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("wave data").Range("J26").Value
H = Excel.ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("wave data").Range("D30").Value
T = Excel.ActiveWorkbook.Sheets("wave data").Range("D31").Value
d = LATmin - surge