PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Object Variable or With block variable not set

Derck
09-29-2019, 08:40 AM
Hello, I'm really a beginner in VBA, and I'm trying to test out some stuff and learn meanwhile.

I have a table with the first column as a date and the second one as an object. I want to make a button that whenever I click it, it will check the date and compare with today's date, and then will fill with an X or any other check mark on the second column. I have been looking around and came up with this

Private Sub CheckMark_Object_A

Dim TodayDate as Range
Dim Found As Range

With Range("A2:A33")
Set Today Date = .Find(What:="today()", LookAt:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False)
Set Found = Cells(TodayDate.Row, 2)
End With

Found.cell = "X"
End Sub

I really have just started trying stuff. I tried different functions and always get an error as "object not defined" or something like this. Any ideas/advices?

Kenneth Hobs
09-29-2019, 11:44 AM
Welcome to the forum!

I could show you how to use Find() for for that small of a range, an iterative method would suffice.

Private Sub CheckMark_Object_A()
Dim r As Range, a, i As Long

Set r = Range("A2:A33")
ReDim a(1 To r.Cells.Count)
For i = 1 To r.Cells.Count
If r(i) = Date Then a(i) = "x"
Next i
r.Offset(, 1) = WorksheetFunction.Transpose(a)
End Sub

SamT
09-29-2019, 12:46 PM
Set Today Date = .Find(What:="today()", LookAt:=xlWhole,
Exactly what String are you looking for? "today", (all lower case,) + Empty Parentheses?

also:
With Range("A2:A33")
Set TodayDate = .Find(What:="today()", LookAt:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False)
If Not TodayDate Is nothing then Set Found = Cells(TodayDate.Row, 2)
End With

If Not Found is Nothing Then Found.cell = "X"
'However, setting Found that way is redundantly repetitive.

Finally:
Private Sub CheckMark_Object_A
Dim Found As Range

Set Found = Range("A2:A33").Find(What:="today()", LookAt:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False)