PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] combine macros and have access from my personal workbook

mml
10-03-2019, 12:03 AM
Absolute newbie here . I am teaching myself VBA and wanted to create a macro that would complete formatting of a spread sheet . Things like deleting rows ,adding headers etc. I have managed to write these modules separately and thought that I could combine into one macro . This is where the problem comes in probably newbie mistake. In the attached file with the separate modules. How do I get this into one macro that I can access in my personal macros ? The spread sheet that I get comes each month and thought that a macro to format would be a way to automate a laborious process . If some one could give me some guidance on how to refine I would be grateful . PS try not to too harsh in your judgement on my code ... I am trying to solve , understand VBA and attempting .At least it will give some a laugh

paulked
10-03-2019, 02:13 AM
Hi there

To make it easier to find things, I think it is always better to organise your modules into sub-sets of code. So I've reduced your modules to 3 and named them... modCommon (for general items), modFormat (for Formatting routines) and modSheets (for sheet manipulations) and moved the Sub's to where I think they should be. To re-name the modules, select the module and then type the new name in the (Name) box.

You can move the Sub's anywhere, but be sure to delete the one from the destination. I noticed there was Module7 and Module71 with the same Sub in it. Using Debug - Compile VBAProject from the VBA menu before running code will pick up errors like these.

Also, try to keep the Sheet modules free for the Code specifically for that sheet. EG a Worksheet_Change event etc.

Option Explicit is also a good idea. This forces you to declare any variables you use and can be turned on by selecting the 'Require Variable Declaration' from the Tools - Options... menu.

Finally, to run in sequence...

Sub DoStuff()
addheader