PDA

View Full Version : VBA to execute filter for future date ranges

ShaneFalco
10-04-2019, 11:41 AM
Hello All,

I am very new to the VBA world and am just starting to get my feet wet. The first project i want to under take is for VBA to filter out certain ranges in my table. The ranges i need are between =TODAY()+335 and =TODAY()+365, between =TODAY()+700 and =TODAY()+735 and between =TODAY()+1065 and =TODAY()+1095. Or at least that is how I am able to accomplish this in basic Excel. I basically want to look at all of my products that have an expiration date 1, 2 and 3 years from the past month.

I have piecemailed some code together but obviously i am on the wrong path as when i run it for the 1 year mark it just filters out my entire spreadsheet and i see nothing when i should see 40-50 lines

here is the code

Public Sub ExpirationDateFilter()
Dim lo As ListObject
Dim iCol As Long
Set lo = Sheet1.ListObjects(1)
iCol = lo.ListColumns("Expiration").Index
lo.AutoFilter.ShowAllData
With lo.Range
.AutoFilter Field:=iCol, _
Criteria1:=">= today()+335", _
Operator:=xlOr, _
Criteria2:="<= today()+365"
End With
End Sub

Any help will be greatfully appreciated as will any pointers. I am very new to writing code in VBA but i can already see the immense impact it can have on my Excel abilities

SamT
10-04-2019, 12:34 PM
Excel Today() = VBA Date

VBA Date Math:
Today + 335 is CLng(Date) + 335

Example

Sub AddDates()
MsgBox Format(CDate(CLng(Date) + 335), "DDD, dd MMM, yyyy")
End Sub

The CDate() Function converts the numerical value of the math into a date.

nb: I write explicit code even when I know VBA will perform the implied functions in the background.

Implied Function form

Sub AddDates()
MsgBox Date + 335
End Sub

Correction:

Criteria1:=">= today()+335", _
Operator:=xlAnd, _
Criteria2:="<= today()+365"

SamT
10-04-2019, 01:20 PM
Option Explicit

Private Function BeginPreviousMonth(DateToCheck As Date) As Date
'Replaces the day number with 01