View Full Version : CSV file to big to link?
troyw
12-04-2019, 05:56 PM
Hi
I am using a database that needs to link a file that is 2GB+ I was previously on win7 32bit MS Access 2013 and had no problems with it linking and sourcing the data I need.
Now that I have migrated over to win10 64bit MS Access 365 I keep getting the following error
"File C\Users\Dave\Desktop\Smith\Mar.csv does not contain data or the file is to large.
How do I fix this
Thanks
This sounds like a typical Microsoft Security Update issue, either a Windows or more likely a an MS Office one.
Can other programs like Excel, Word or Freefileviewer open it?
If it is an update problem the only fix at the moment is to roll back the update.
You could also test if Access VBA code can open the file or if it can be Imported directly into Access.
troyw
12-08-2019, 03:15 PM
Hi
I have a colleague still on WIN7 and the same file works perfectly fine for them.
Unfortunately I can roll back as it is a company change to move from WIN7 to WIN10 and they are no longer providing support for WIN7.
This sounds like a typical Microsoft Security Update issue, either a Windows or more likely a an MS Office one.
Can other programs like Excel, Word or Freefileviewer open it?
If it is an update problem the only fix at the moment is to roll back the update.
You could also test if Access VBA code can open the file or if it can be Imported directly into Access.
Did you try and open it with any other programs on your computer?
The top thread on this Access Forum has VBA code that opens CSV or text files the old fashioned way that you can try to open the file with.
troyw
12-09-2019, 01:46 PM
Hi.
No I don't open the file as I run the risk of corrupting it.
I can't see the VBA one that you are referring to, do you mind linking it for me.
Did you try and open it with any other programs on your computer?
The top thread on this Access Forum has VBA code that opens CSV or text files the old fashioned way that you can try to open the file with.
Take a copy of the file and try and open that instead of the original.
I can provide the code for you, this code will only open the file and try and input one record or line of data.
If it works I can modify it to loop through the data and add it to a table.
Dim strFile as string, strInput as string
On Error GoTo errorcatch
strFile = C\Users\Dave\Desktop\Smith\Mar.csv
Open strFile For Input As #1
Line Input #1, strInput
MsgBox strInput
Close #1
Exit Sub
errorcatch:
MsgBox Err.Description & " " & intCount & " " & strInput
Close #1
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.