PDA

View Full Version : Macro for saving active work books to new file type

nicholas_c1
03-12-2020, 09:26 AM
Hi All,

I'm quite new to creating macros in excel. I currently have to open numerous files in .XLSM format and save them to .XLS format. I have a macro that works I am just trying to make some adjustments to it but can't seem to get it working. Currently when the macro runs, it changes the file type successfully, saves a copy of the file and closes the work book. This isn't a huge deal because I can always go back and delete the old file but I want it to be more efficient.

My questions are: based on the macro below, is there a way to adjust it so that A. It does not save a copy and saves the current file to a new extension? & B. Is there a way to make it so that it saves ALL open/active work books?

This is what I'm currently using. I apologize in advance if I don't know what I'm talking about, I'm a new macro user :crying:

Sub saver()
Dim fn As String
Dim l As Long
Dim wb As Workbook

Set wb = ActiveWorkbook
fn = wb.FullName
l = InStrRev(fn, ".")
fn = Left(fn, l)
fn = fn & "xls"

wb.SaveAs Filename:=fn, FileFormat:=51
wb.Close

End Sub

Paul_Hossler
03-12-2020, 03:05 PM
I'd have a control WB with the macro

The macro below lets you select the WBs to convert, then it opens them one by one, saves as xls, closes the xlsx, and finally deletes the original xlsx file

Also I think you wanted FileFormat 56, not 51. Just changing the extension doesn't change the underlying file type/structure

Option Explicit

Sub SaveAsXLS()
Dim vFiles As Variant
Dim iFile As Long
Dim wb As Workbook
Dim sNewName As String

vFiles = Application.GetOpenFilename("Excel Files (*.xlsx), *.xlsx", , "Select file(s)", , True)

'was [Cancel] clicked
If VarType(vFiles) = vbBoolean Then
If vFiles = False Then
Exit Sub
End If
End If

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

For iFile = LBound(vFiles) To UBound(vFiles)
sNewName = Left(vFiles(iFile), InStrRev(vFiles(iFile), ".")) & "xls"