PDA

View Full Version : Run Time Error 80004005

Steconnor
04-20-2020, 06:53 AM
Hi folks,

New to the forum, hopefully, I can tap into some of the knowledge here to help with run time I'm experiencing at the moment. I'm new to writing VBA, although I'm an experienced web developer in PHP, JS, HTML etc.

I'm currently working on a web bot that takes two variables from cells in the same row of a spreadsheet and uses the variables as search terms on a website. Then when the site returns the search result (a webpage), the bot will scrape certain info from the page and return it to cells adjacent to the search term variables on the spreasheet.

When I run the code using the play button in the VBA code editor in Excel, the code run momentarily (i have debug.print within the code at certain stages so i can monitor the progress in the immediate window) and then I get the Run-Time Error '2147467259 (80004005)' Automaton Error Unspecified Error.
If I step down through the code line by line using F8 is runs perfectly

Software Details
Windows 10
Excel 2013
VBA 7.1

Public Sub LoopColumn()

Dim myIE As Object
'Dim myIEDoc As Object

'Start Internet Explorer
Set myIE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")

'if you want to see the window set this to True
myIE.Visible = False

Dim n As Integer
n = 2

Dim c As Range

For Each c In Range("B2:B11")
If IsEmpty(c.Value) = False Then
Dim x As Range

Set x = Cells(n, 2)
Debug.Print x

Dim y As Range
Set y = Cells(n, 1)
Debug.Print y

myIE.Navigate "https://www.vesselfinder.com/vessels/" & y & "-IMO-" & x

'Print current url.
Debug.Print myIE.LocationURL

Dim IEDocument As HTMLDocument
Set IEDocument = myIE.document

Dim IETables As IHTMLElementCollection
Dim IETable As IHTMLTable
Dim IETable1 As IHTMLTable
Dim IETable2 As IHTMLTable

Set IETable = IEDocument.getElementsByTagName("table")(0)
Debug.Print Trim(IEDocument.getElementsByTagName("table")(0).Children(1).Children(0).Children(0).innerText)