PDA

View Full Version : VBA Newbie looking for linear or polynomial fit to missing dats

happy_camper
05-06-2020, 06:52 PM
Hello Good people of the world:

I promise I have looked at a bunch of linear interpolation resources here and on the web; however, since I'm just learning loops and basic VBA and Python, I'm convinced that I need more time to even be able to assimilate resources out there and make it into a workable solution. I've been struggling with this for a week, and I ran across this website during my research

I have just 3 columns.
First column is just a count of the days (1,2,3....)
Second column is a continuous stream (has a value for each day).
Third column has several missing values. (with values on just a few days)

I'm trying to interpolate in the 3rd column so that all missing values are filled out. After that, I'm trying to make a cumulative plot of both the streams and compare them(which I will be doing manually later). But to make my cumulative curves, I need the entire 3rd column filled out by linear interpolation or a spline/polynomial interpolation.

I would greatly appreciate your help here. I will give back to the community once I get better at coding some day. Thank you!

Paul_Hossler
05-06-2020, 07:14 PM
Easiest way is straight line over the gaps

2 gaps between days 4 and 7 so 1/3 of day7 minus Day4 and 2/3 of day7 minus Day4.

The 'checks' are for 0/3 and 3/3

What about the red points? X = 0 but Y non-zero. In this POC I just treated them as missing data

happy_camper
05-06-2020, 08:09 PM
Thank you very much Paul. I really appreciate it.