PDA

View Full Version : Working with 2 workbooks/Finding/Inserting Data from one to another

newbie123
01-20-2006, 06:48 PM
hi,
i'm very new to vba and am completely stuck on how to do something.
basically, one workbook1 contains a worksheet with a column of first names
(Column B), last names (Column C), and cities (Column D). another workbook2 contains a worksheet with a specific city info, age info, gender, first and last names matching specific people from the other workbook... what i want to do is, look through workbook1 for everybody matching the city of workbook2 and from there, compare to see if the people in workbook1 can be found in workbook2. if they can be found, copy the info from workbook2 relating to the person found and paste that info into specific columns in workbook1. it seems like such an easy concept but its not working right at all for me!

here is a sample of my code:

Worksheets("People").Activate
Worksheets("People").Range("D1").Select
Dim count As Integer
Dim lastname As String
Dim firstname As String
Dim startrow As Integer

count = 1

'loop to go through all rows in workbook1 worksheet

Do While Not IsEmpty(ActiveCell)

'check to see if city in column D equals cities in workbook2
'note: previous to this, i have an inputbox in order to find out
'what city the other workbook2 is referring to
If Worksheets("People").Columns("D").Find(city,_
LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole).Row Then

'if city is found in workbook1, copy lastname and first name
lastname = Range("C" & count).Value
firstname = Range("B" & count).Value
'open up workbook2
Workbooks.Open Filename:=FName(n)
Worksheets(1).Activate

'search through all of workbook2 to see if the last name can be found
Do While (Worksheets(1).Columns("A").Find(lastname, _
LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole).Row)

'record the row that lastname is found in, if found

startrow = Worksheets(1).Columns("A").Find(lastname, _
LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole).Row
If Not startrow = 0 Then