PDA

View Full Version : VBA code - input data to website and retrieve result in excel

98aallen
11-12-2020, 02:21 PM
Hope someone can help. I'm very new to VBA so will ideally need a copy and paste job if possible please.

I have loads of data in excel with postcodes to and from and want to input them into a website and return the distance the website gives in the results.

Column A - has from postcodes (UK postcodes) - example B10 0AX (zip codes for my US friends)
Column B - has to postcodes (UK Postcodes) - example B70 7LB (zip codes for my US friends)

I need to input these into the relevant boxes on https://www.theaa.com/driving/mileage-calculator.jsp

Once the "get route" button has been pressed it returns the distance in miles and kilometres and also the expense in £ pounds

Using my examples it returns 9.02 miles - 14.524 kilometres and £1.26

I have thousands of postcodes to enter for the to and from and need this data to be pulled into an excel sheet somehow.

Please please can anyone help

EDIT : trying to be clearer.

i have an excel spreadsheet containing 2 columns of data and thousands of rows. i need each row to be input on the AA website above and then the get route button to be pressed so that it returns the results, and i need those results in excel in columns next to the data in columns A and B.

I have tried for hours, searched videos and forums and have got no where but i do believe its possible from what i am reading, i just cant figure it out

JimmyTheHand
11-13-2020, 02:39 AM
This code might work for you.
Change the references in the red lines to fit your case.

Sub GetDistances()
Dim IE As Object
Dim wsSource As Worksheet, rngSource As Range, c As Range
Dim fldFrom As Object, fldTo As Object, fldDist As Object, fldCost As Object, Cost As String, arrDist

Set wsSource = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Sheet1")
Set rngSource = wsSource.Range("A1:A15")

Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
IE.Visible = True