PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] A simple VBA "for each" loop with "call" function issue

two0two1
01-01-2021, 09:04 AM
Hello Everyone.
Happy new year!
I am new to VBA and am facing issue with the below mentioned code. I am getting "Object Required" code error. Can someone please point me in the right direction.
I have written similar codes earlier without the "call" function and they have worked.

Sub callwithdata()
Dim mycellx As Variant
For Each mycellx In [a1:a9]
If mycellx.Value > 10 Then
Call subwithdata(16, True, "Calibri")
End If
Next mycellx
End Sub

Private Sub subwithdata(fontsize As Integer, fontbold As Boolean, fontname As String)
With mycellx.Font
.Size = fontsize
.Bold = fontbold
.name = fontname
End With
End Sub

(If this post needs to be moved to any other sub-category, please let me know. Thanks.)

rollis13
01-01-2021, 11:38 AM
Have a try with these two changes I applyed to your macro:
Sub callwithdata() Dim mycellx As Variant
For Each mycellx In [A1:A9]
Call subwithdata(mycellx, 16, True, "Calibri") '<= changed
End If
Next mycellx
End Sub

Private Sub subwithdata(mycellx, fontsize As Integer, fontbold As Boolean, fontname As String) '<= changed
With mycellx.Font
.Size = fontsize
.Bold = fontbold
.Name = fontname
End With
End Sub

Paul_Hossler
01-01-2021, 04:27 PM
Hello Everyone.
Happy new year!
I am new to VBA and am facing issue with the below mentioned code. I am getting "Object Required" code error. Can someone please point me in the right direction.
I have written similar codes earlier without the "call" function and they have worked.

Welcome to the forum - take a minute and read the FAQ in the link in my signature for the rules of the road

I added CODE tags to the macro in your post

Really a Scope issue, not a Call issue

mycellx is only visible within the Sub where it is Dim-ed, unless it's Dim-ed outside of all subs/functions and then it's visible to all within the module

Homework assignment: