PDA

View Full Version : Copying Data Between Sheets

Eratosthenes
02-06-2021, 12:45 PM
Hello all, I'm new here! Just a bit of background, if you're interested; I'm a novice programmer doing technical support for a printing company based in Missouri. I've been tasked with streamlining the processes of printing our box labels, and have hit a snag. Most of the issue comes from the fact that some, but not all, of our computers are Apples. It seems to me that the easiest way to get it to work I have to separate my VBA program from the data it needs to interact with, but this broke my program entirely and I can't seem to fix it no matter what I do.

Here is the code I was using before I tried to separate the files. I'm sorry, it's definitely a mess.

Private Sub EXPORT_Click() Sheets("XML").Range("A1:C13530").Copy
Sheets("UPS").Range("A1").PasteSpecial _
Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False
Worksheets("UPS").Columns("B").Replace _
What:="#REF!", Replacement:="BAD", _
SearchOrder:=xlByColumns, MatchCase:=True
Last = Cells(Rows.Count, "B").End(xlUp).row
For i = Last To 1 Step -1
If (Cells(i, "B").Value) = "BAD" Then
Cells(i, "B").EntireRow.Delete
End If
Next i
Columns("A:B").EntireColumn.Delete
Dim xRet As Long
Dim xFileName As Variant
On Error GoTo ErrHandler
xFileName = Application.GetSaveAsFilename(ActiveSheet.Name, "XML File (*.xml), *.xml", , "Worldship Exporter")
If xFileName = False Then Exit Sub
If Dir(xFileName) <> "" Then
xRet = MsgBox("File '" & xFileName & "' exists. Overwrite?", vbYesNo + vbExclamation, "Worldship Exporter")
If xRet <> vbYes Then
Exit Sub
Else
Kill xFileName
End If
End If

SaveFile (xFileName)

Exit Sub
ErrHandler:
MsgBox Err.Description, , "Worldship Exporter"
End Sub

Private Sub SaveFile(fileName)
Dim fileNumber As Integer
fileNumber = FreeFile

On Error GoTo ReleaseFileAndThrowError
Open fileName For Output As #fileNumber

Dim row As Integer
Dim cellText As String
Do
row = row + 1