PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Help with SIMPLE string-matching loop

atarigen
01-30-2006, 09:58 PM
Hello everyone! This is my first post here and, as will soon be painfully obvious, I am a total newbie on VBA. I am in awe of you all, and in particular of the moderators of this forum. I can only begin to imagine how tedious and time consuming it must be to go through other people's codes, and yet everybody seems to get help here. I hope to one day know enough to contribute my own bit, but please bear with me for the time being...

Okay, so here is my problem. I've been trying to write a very simple code to help me classify inventory entries. One the one hand I have a long list of item descriptions that do not follow any uniform standard. On the other I have the names of most of the relevant designers and manufacturers. The macro I wrote was supposed to compare each item description with the entries in the designer list, and return in an adjascent column any matches or partial matches. Unfortunately it doesn't run at all and I haven't been able to find what is wrong with it.

Here is what I have so far:

Function FindStrMatch(strX As String) As String

Dim wsSource As Worksheet, i As Long, strSource As Range

Set wsSource = Sheets("Designers")

With wsSource
For i = 1 To Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row
Set strSource = Range(A, i)
If InStr(strSource.Text, strX) > 0 Then
FindStrMatch = strSource.Text
Exit Function
End If
Next i
End With

End Function

Sub GetMatches()

Dim wsSource As Worksheet, wsTarget As Worksheet, strX As String
Dim cl As Range, strMatch As String

Set wsTarget = Sheets("ItemDesc")

For Each cl In wsTarget.Range("A:A")
If cl <> "" Then
Set cl.Text = strX
strMatch = FindStrMatch(strX)
wsTarget.Range(cl.Address).Offset(0, 1).Value = strMatch
End If
Next cl

End Sub