PDA

View Full Version : Remove all sounds from animations in powerpoint

paulwilson
08-24-2021, 10:15 PM
I am a secondary school teacher and I been given have 37 different powerpoint files, each with about 50 slides on each. Within each slide, there are animations with sounds. I want to keep the animations, but get rid of the sound effects because they are annoying. So far I just mute the computer speaker, but I would love to find a way to get rid of all the sound effects. Can anyone tell me a macro I could use to do this?

John Wilson
08-25-2021, 04:23 AM
I put a responce on your other post but a new post iS a good idea!

Try this (Test on a copy)

Sub kill_soundeffect()
Dim oeff As Effect
Dim osld As Slide
For Each osld In ActivePresentation.Slides
For Each oeff In osld.TimeLine.MainSequence
oeff.EffectInformation.SoundEffect.Type = ppSoundNone
Next oeff
Next osld
End Sub

paulwilson
08-25-2021, 12:00 PM
that worked brilliantly! thank you very much! That has saved me a huge amount of work and I am sure my students will appreciate the slides without all the wierd "swooshes" and "boings" in every animation.:clap:

paulwilson
08-25-2021, 03:36 PM
In fact, when I checked through the slides, although the macro had removed the sounds, it has also stopped the animation effects working properly, so I have had to go back to the orignal versions. When I ran the macro it seemed to change the type of animation and the sequence of the animations, which meant that some slides did not work properly. Any ideas how I could stop this happening?

paulwilson
08-25-2021, 05:10 PM
When I do it manually, I go to the animation pane, select all the animations, then select "effect options" and choose "no sound". This has no effect on the animations other than removing the sound. But when I ran the macro, it changed lots of other aspects of the animations as well.

John Wilson
08-26-2021, 04:57 AM
I see that too but I have no idea why it should work like that

Maybe something like this