PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Geometric Brownian Motion Help

hype_hoosier
06-01-2022, 11:43 AM
TIA! I have seen a few old posts on similar topics but still trying to get some help on this as my situation is different than other posters.

I am very new to VBA and trying to simulate stock prices using the geometric brownian motion formula, and I'm trying to make the code dynamic and reference cells in the worksheet so if I run the code again, I do not need to update the code itself, just the values within each cell. I am also trying to run a certain number of iterations (I would also like the number of iterations to be dynamic and reference a cell in the worksheet in case I wanted to change the number of iterations in the future, but typically I'd want to run 1000+ iterations, so I am trying to make the code efficient). Using 64-bit Office 365 Excel.

The starting point for each iteration would be S, which is the stock price and would be located in Cell B1 in my example. Then every subsequent day would follow the formula below.

The formula is as follows:
X(n) = X(n-1) + u*X(n-1)*Delta_t + Sigma*X(n-1)*En*sqrt(Delta_t)
Where:
u = Drift = Cell B2 in a worksheet (a percentage)
Sigma = Annual Volatility = Cell B3 in a worksheet (a percentage)
Delta_t = Time Interval Between Steps = Cell B5 in a worksheet (calculated as 1 divided by the total number of steps).
En = A standard Normal Random Variable = NORMSINV(Rand())

The total number of steps I would need in each iteration would be calculated when I run the code given it is based on the number of days the NYSE is open for the next 5 or so years from the time of running the code. So I am trying to have the total number of steps (i.e. total number of trading days for the next 5 years) in cell B4 and have the code update how many steps to do each time I run it.