PDA

View Full Version : Unprotect sheet for certain users upon start up

mkuznetsov1
09-26-2023, 10:02 AM
VBA Newbie here...I am trying to write a code under the workbook so when a sheet opens it is unprotected to "admin" users...the kicker is I want it set up based on my second sheet "AuthUsers" in column A where the admins are allowed to edit/add new users. (usernames are system not excel). I was trying to mimic this code I used for the read only code but have no luck. I have been trying different things in the module and running it from there to see if it will unprotect with my username filled in but no luck. I will post the base read only code and then what I have tried to do with it. Any help would be awesome!

'This sets all users to read only unless you are listed in AuthUsers sheet column A
Users = Environ("USERNAME")
Set C = Worksheets("AuthUsers").Range("A1:A100").Find(Users, LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False)
If C Is Nothing Then
Application.DisplayAlerts = False
On Error Resume Next
'may already be read only
If ThisWorkbook.Path <> vbNullString Then ThisWorkbook.ChangeFileAccess xlReadOnly
On Error GoTo 0
Application.DisplayAlerts = True
End If
Set C = Worksheets("AuthUsers").Range("A3").Find(Users, LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False)
If C Is Nothing Then
On Error Resume Next
If C = Environ("USERNAME") Then Sheets("EDP #s").Unprotect (Pass)
On Error GoTo 0
End If

georgiboy
09-26-2023, 11:35 PM
Welcome to the forum mkuznetsov1,

Try the below in the sheet 'EDP #s', the code needs to go in that sheets code window:

Private Sub Worksheet_Activate()
Dim Users As String, c As Range, pass As String

Set c = Worksheets("AuthUsers").Range("A1:A100").Find(Users, LookIn:=xlValues, lookat:=xlWhole, MatchCase:=False)
pass = "password"

If c Is Nothing Then
On Error Resume Next
If ThisWorkbook.Path <> vbNullString Then
ThisWorkbook.ChangeFileAccess xlReadOnly
Me.Protect pass
End If
On Error GoTo 0
Else
On Error Resume Next