PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Create a Sorted List of unsorted cells based on color of next cell into a new sheet.

tejprn
11-03-2023, 09:17 AM
Dear Forum Members, I am looking for a solution to this. I am totally new to vba in excel but have experimented once or twice in the past few years. If there are any alternative solutions, I am open to all.

Version of the program
Excel 2016

What I want it to do
Short Version: Copy and arrange only those cells of Column A which are adjacent to cells in blue color font of Column B in a list form to a new sheet.

Long Version:
I have the following data;
Excel files - 26
Sheets in each file - 26
Columns in each sheet - 2(No headers)
Font colors used - 3
Rows in each sheet - Thousands

Column A has data and Column B has corresponding entries with specific font color for easy identification. Although the list has an order but as of now, the cells with a different color are not in sequence. I am looking for simplest/fastest way to make a list of all copied cells which have cells with blue color font next to them.

What I would love to happen:
Get one big list of maybe thousands entries from these 26 excel files.

My approach: Use VBA
1. Create a new sheet named List at the beginning of the sheet.
2. Use filter as it shows only filtered entries instead of custom sort which although arranges but also has other entries below. I don't know a way to select only blue font cells.
3. Copy the whole sheet data.
4. Paste copied data into "List" sheet.
5. Move one row below the last row of data for new data.
6. Create some sort of loop to process Step 2 to Step 5 on all sheets in the file.
7. Copy "List" contents separately for each file preferably using code or else manually.

Work Done: Please review my code which is nothing but a mix of code snippets copied, learnt and adjusted from different sources.

Sub CopyListToNewSheet()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False 'Stop screen flashing during working.