PDA

View Full Version : Print multiple word docs using VBA

presence76
02-22-2006, 01:42 PM
I am a programmer with moderate VBA experience but most of it pertains to Excel. I have a directory that is populated daily with about 1,500 word documents. The only constant in the names is the .doc extension. If I try to highlight all the files and print, my system locks (no matter how much horsepower my PC or the network has). The only way to print them is to manually open up each one. They are one or sometimes 2 page documents.

Is there a way to print these word documents using VBA without locking up the network or the PC it's executing on? The printer is networked.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Killian
02-22-2006, 02:27 PM
Hi and welcome to VBAX :hi:

You need to open the documents one at a time to control the resources
A simple way to to that is to set up a FileSystemObject, set a target folder and loop through its matching files (*.doc).
Word will be fully occupied for a while with 1500 docs and that will be noticable on the workstations. Network bandwitdh will be used up however you do it, unless you choose to pause in the loop.

So first, add a reference to the Microsoft Scripting Runtime (in the VBE, Tols>References and secelt it from the list) then this routine should workSub PrintAll()

Dim fso As FileSystemObject
Dim fldr As Folder
Dim f As File
Dim myDoc As Document
Const TARGET_FOLDER As String = "C:\Temp\"

Set fso = New FileSystemObject
Set fldr = fso.GetFolder(TARGET_FOLDER)
For Each f In fldr.Files
If Right(f.Name, 4) = ".doc" Then
Set myDoc = Documents.Open(TARGET_FOLDER & f.Name)
myDoc.PrintOut
myDoc.Close False
' you could append a log file here
End If
Next f

End Sub

presence76
02-22-2006, 02:42 PM
Unbelievable. You rock.

Now, I only got it to work with a local printer and it does tie up the PC running it, but thats probably how we are going to have to have to function right?

Thanks alot!!!!!

Killian
02-22-2006, 02:56 PM
You're welcome :-)