PDA

View Full Version : 2 ways table lookup

evlai
03-04-2006, 08:47 AM
I am new to excel, i would like to know if i need a formula to lookup a value in a 2 ways table, how can i do it.

I am attaching my file into this for clearer picture. Thanks

:friends:

Bob Phillips
03-04-2006, 09:17 AM
Whis is 31 and 32 in Feb?

evlai
03-04-2006, 09:19 AM
huh...that was supposed to be the week number but i did not change it to the correct order. Just an example..

austenr
03-04-2006, 10:33 AM
My guess is that he auto filled the row

matthewspatrick
03-04-2006, 06:31 PM
evlai,

You apparently copied and pasted from a PivotTable, which is already summarizing the data for you. I honestly do not understand what you are trying to do. :dunno

XLGibbs
03-04-2006, 08:03 PM
A general answer to your question would be the help file on the following formulas:

LOOKUP
HLOOKUP
VLOOKUP
INDEX
MATCH

Note however, that you can not specifically lookup a value in a table two ways, or two times in one formula without some added complexity.

evlai
03-05-2006, 05:27 AM
Hi All,

I understand it will need very complex formula if i want excel to perform this for me. I have actually tried many times to figure out the solution, but yet to find one.

Patrick was right, the data is actually performed by pivot, but i need this because of i have many worksheets with this summarized calculation. I need to summarized some of the special group into a Summary worksheet only. i need to check the data every time when i want to updata the data into the Summary worksheet and it is really time consuming for me to check more than 10 worksheets and ensure the columns/ rows are in correct order. That is why i was thinking to have a vba/formula to automate my report.

Evlai
: pray2:

mdmackillop
03-05-2006, 06:33 AM
Hi Evlai,
I can't understand your requirements. Can you add some comments/textboxes to your sample to show what is needed and where.