PDA

View Full Version : Can styles help format a hash?

mansky
03-06-2006, 11:30 AM
Hi,
I'm just learning how to use styles in Word and wanted to know if they can be used to do the following. I have a hash at the begining of a document (defined in an attached template) that is in it's own paragraph. The hash consists of several lines of text, each line of the form:
Label: Value.

I've created some custom styles of my own and using:

ActiveDocument.Paragraphs(1).Style = "VMText"

where VMText is one of my custom styles (w/Style Type = wdStyleTypeParagraph). This statement applies my style to all the text in the paragraph specified, as I expected.

However, I want finer control over the text in the "hash" paragraph. I want on each line the text to the left of the colon to be boldface and in one font, pointsize and color, the text to the right of the colon to be in a different font, pointsize and color.

I noticed that the Styles object has only two values for Type: wdStyleTypeCharacter and wdStyleTypeParagraph. No wdStyleTypeWord enum value.

To get a particular style associated with a "word" do I have to count characters and/or search for a delimiter (eg. the colon char) ? Or is there an easier way to get my hash labels all boldface? As you can tell, I'm not really sure how to use the wdStyleTypeCharacter.:think:

Any ideas on how to get finer control of text are greatly appreciated!

Ed

fumei
03-06-2006, 09:50 PM
Styles apply, as you have discovered, to characters, or paragraphs. In later versions of Word there are also Table and List styles - however, that is not really relevant here.

Anyway, the answer is....Word uses styles with characters, or paragraphs. Not words. That is the way it is.

OK, a few questions. You state the hash paragraph is "defined in an attached template".

1. Are you creating this document as a clone from that template?