PDA

View Full Version : "file not found" when using Shell()

secret_sauce
03-23-2006, 03:13 AM
Forgive if this is a total noob question.

All I want to do is launch an external app (a Perl script) using Shell(). But all I get is "Run-time error '53': File not found."

I even copied the example verbatim from the VB Help:

Dim RetVal
RetVal = Shell("Macintosh HD:Applications:Calculator", vbNormalFocus)

Same error. This seems so elementary.

mansky
03-25-2006, 10:00 AM
Hi,
Try using the function MacScript() instead of Shell(). I believe Shell isn't operational on the Mac version of Office, but MacScript is the equivalent.
To run a Perl script, or any other script or binary, you'll need to use "do shell script" in Applescript. If you need examples, post back. There's a bit of overhead in calling Perl scripts, via Applescript, from VB in any Office application, but for normal tasks, the extra time shouldn't be a problem.

Good luck!

Ed

secret_sauce
03-25-2006, 03:46 PM
Excellent, Ed. Pointing me to MacScript() was the tip I needed. Found a post elsewhere started by ... you! This seems to work nicely:

sPath = "/Users/Shared/Scripts/ttt.pl"
sSwitches = "-mt -L French"
sArgs = "/Users/fred/Documents/foo"

sCmd = "set RetVal1 to do shell script """ & sPath & " " & sSwitches & " " & sArgs & """"
RetVal2 = MacScript(sCmd)

Only problem: If the script has any problems (a bad path, a bad permission), the macro fails with Runtime Error '5', so the error checking in the script itself seems to be bypassed. Should I be intercepting the VBA runtime errors somehow, or do I need to do some prelim. checking of paths and permissions before I call the script?

mansky
03-25-2006, 05:14 PM
Hi,
You could check for the existence of the file and/or the path in VBA before you go and run your Perl script, or you can put the checks for existence in the Perl script itself. Then have the VBA macro calling the Perl script do various things depending on the return value from the Perl script.