PDA

View Full Version : Solved: If problem



Tenspeed39355
03-23-2006, 10:13 AM
Good morning guys. What am I doing wrong with the If command?
=IF(C3=D3:I3,"Yes","No")
C3 has the number 10 in it and D3:I3 have numbers like 14,19,25,10,32
I was hoping that by running the IF statement that it would return a Yes
What am I doing wrong? Thanks for your time with this
Max

ALe
03-23-2006, 10:37 AM
the fact is that "if" look for only another range

try this (it gives error if the value is not found)

=IF(C3=INDEX(D3:H3;1;MATCH(C3;D3:H3;0));"Yes";"No")

ALe
03-23-2006, 10:42 AM
to avoid error:

=IF(ISERROR(IF(C3=INDEX(D3:H3;1;MATCH(C3;D3:H3;0));"Yes";"No"));"NO";IF(C3=INDEX(D3:H3;1;MATCH(C3;D3:H3;0));"Yes";"No"))

ALe
03-23-2006, 10:46 AM
or better:

=IF(ISERROR(VLOOKUP(C3;D3:H3;1;0));"NO";"YES")

Tenspeed39355
03-23-2006, 11:00 AM
Do you have another one. I am just joking. Thanks a lot, you guys are top of the line.
By the way where do I go to stop the thread? I will rate the thread, I know were to do that. ****
Max

mdmackillop
03-23-2006, 01:04 PM
Hi Max, There is a problem with "Solved" at the moment.