PDA

View Full Version : Simple Find and Replace

caz1805
04-04-2006, 12:57 PM
Hi i am very new to VBA, but been trying to learn over the last couple of weeks. Made a simple find and replace program that replaces 'Hello' with 'Bonjour'. Was just wondering was there any way that this replacement could occur automatically so as i type hello it is replaced after the space bar is pressed. I have managed to do this in Visual Basic, but struggling to find anything within VBA. Any help would be excellent.

Caz

Heres the code.

Sub Test()
With ActiveDocument.Content.Find
.Text = "Hello"
With .Replacement
.Text = "Bonjour"
End With
.Execute Format:=True, Replace:=wdReplaceAll
End With
End Sub

fumei
04-04-2006, 02:15 PM
1. Are you saying that whenever the spacebar is pressed you want code that will check the previous word to see if it is "hello", and if it is, change it to "bonjour"?

2. How did you do this in VB????

caz1805
04-04-2006, 02:24 PM
Yeh so when the spacebar is pressed I want code that will check the previous word to see if it is "hello", and if it is, change it to "bonjour". So exactly what you said.

Here is the code in visual basic.

Private Sub Text2_KeyUp(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
Dim Word As String
Dim Prts() As String
Dim NewWord As String

If KeyCode = vbKeySpace Then
Prts = Split(Text2.Text, " ")

Word = Prts(UBound(Prts) - 1)
Select Case LCase(Word)
Case "hello": NewWord = "Bonjour"
Case "bye": NewWord = "Au revior"
Case Else: NewWord = Word
End Select

Text1.Text = Replace(Text2.Text, Word, NewWord)
Text1.SelStart = Len(Text2.Text)
End If
End Sub

fumei
04-04-2006, 03:02 PM
Well, OK....except, if i understand correctly, this code is running on a form. At least I think it is, since you are using Text1.SelStart. There is no such beast in a DOCUMENT.

So sure, it is not so crazy doing a check on EVERY keystroke - as this does - when you have a fairly limited amount of text.