PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with processing a number of docs please

Tecnik
04-10-2006, 08:42 AM
Hi There,

I'm a newbie to VBA however just recently I've found myself playing with macros in Word and would like to find out more.

I've created some macros that have proved real timesavers with a recent project, which was quite rewarding. I've got something a little more in depth I'm trying to create now and wondered if someone might be able to point me in the right direction as far as code or tutorials go.

I have a number of idividual word files that I want to run through PDFmaker. I can execute the macro I need with:-

Application.Run MacroName:="AdobePDFMakerA.AutoExec.ConvertToPDF"

However I want to be able to select a number of files, or folder containing files, and run them through PDFmaker. I also need to bea able to take care of a Save dialog box that prompts the user to save the file.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance,

Nick

P.S. Can anyone recommend any good tutorials on VBA or any good books, thanks.

fumei
04-10-2006, 03:18 PM
In terms of processing a number of files, look up the Dir function, as well as FileSystyemObject.

As for processing a number of PDFMaker instructions...shudder...just thinking about it gives me the willies.

I assume that the Adobe macro will take parameters, that is, a file name? Then something like:Dim oFile
Dim strPath As String
strPath = "c:\blahblah\DocFiles\"
oFile = Dir(strPath & "*.doc")
Do While oFile <> ""
' do you have to open the file to
' use the PDFmaker macro?
' if so...
Documents.Open Filename:=strPath & oFile
' run the PDFMaker macro
Documents(oFile).Close wdDoNotSaveChanges
oFile = Dir
Loop

Tecnik
04-10-2006, 11:08 PM
Hi Gerry,

Thanks for the help, I'll give the code a try and see what I come up with.

Having looked at the code I think I'm right in saying I need to put this:-

where your code says:-
' run the PDFMaker macro