PDA

View Full Version : converting number into words



yogeshwarv
04-11-2006, 07:20 AM
Hi Sir,

I was wondering if there could be method to convert numbers into words in Indian Style.:banghead:

For Example:
converting 1 into one
10 into ten
100 into One Hundred
1000 into One Thousand
10000 into Ten Thousand
100000 into One Lakh
1000000 into Ten Lakh
10000000 into One Crore
100000000 into Ten Crore

Please anyone hep me. :help

Regards

Yogeshwar

JKwan
04-11-2006, 11:35 AM
Here try this link:
http://cpap.com.br/orlando/#SpellNumber

This gives you English, just change it to Indian.

Bob Phillips
04-11-2006, 01:50 PM
Option Explicit

'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
Function SpellNumber(ByVal MyNumber, _
Optional incRupees As Boolean = True)
'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
Dim Crores, Lakhs, Rupees, Paise, Temp
Dim DecimalPlace As Long, Count As Long
Dim myLakhs, myCrores

ReDim Place(9) As String
Place(2) = " Thousand ": Place(3) = " Million "
Place(4) = " Billion ": Place(5) = " Trillion "

' String representation of amount.
MyNumber = Trim(Str(MyNumber))

' Position of decimal place 0 if none.
DecimalPlace = InStr(MyNumber, ".")

' Convert Paise and set MyNumber to Rupees amount.
If DecimalPlace > 0 Then
Paise = GetTens(Left(Mid(MyNumber, DecimalPlace + 1) & "00", 2))
MyNumber = Trim(Left(MyNumber, DecimalPlace - 1))
End If
myCrores = MyNumber \ 10000000
myLakhs = (MyNumber - myCrores * 10000000) \ 100000
MyNumber = MyNumber - myCrores * 10000000 - myLakhs * 100000

Count = 1
Do While myCrores <> ""
Temp = GetHundreds(Right(myCrores, 3))
If Temp <> "" Then Crores = Temp & Place(Count) & Crores
If Len(myCrores) > 3 Then
myCrores = Left(myCrores, Len(myCrores) - 3)
Else
myCrores = ""
End If
Count = Count + 1
Loop

Count = 1
Do While myLakhs <> ""
Temp = GetHundreds(Right(myLakhs, 3))
If Temp <> "" Then Lakhs = Temp & Place(Count) & Lakhs
If Len(myLakhs) > 3 Then
myLakhs = Left(myLakhs, Len(myLakhs) - 3)
Else
myLakhs = ""
End If
Count = Count + 1
Loop

Count = 1
Do While MyNumber <> ""
Temp = GetHundreds(Right(MyNumber, 3))
If Temp <> "" Then Rupees = Temp & Place(Count) & Rupees
If Len(MyNumber) > 3 Then
MyNumber = Left(MyNumber, Len(MyNumber) - 3)
Else
MyNumber = ""
End If
Count = Count + 1
Loop

Select Case Crores
Case "": Crores = ""
Case "One": Crores = " One Crore "
Case Else: Crores = Crores & " Crores "
End Select

Select Case Lakhs
Case "": Lakhs = ""
Case "One": Lakhs = " One Lakh "
Case Else: Lakhs = Lakhs & " Lakhs "
End Select

Select Case Rupees
Case "": Rupees = "Zero "
Case "One": Rupees = "One "
Case Else: Rupees = Rupees
End Select

Select Case Paise
Case "": Paise = " and Paise Zero Only "
Case "One": Paise = " and Paise One Only "
Case Else: Paise = " and Paise " & Paise & " Only "
End Select

SpellNumber = IIf(incRupees, "Rupees ", "") & Crores & Lakhs & Rupees & Paise

End Function


'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
' Converts a number from 100-999 into text
Function GetHundreds(ByVal MyNumber)
'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
Dim Result As String
If Val(MyNumber) = 0 Then Exit Function
MyNumber = Right("000" & MyNumber, 3)
' Convert the hundreds place.
If Mid(MyNumber, 1, 1) <> "0" Then
Result = GetDigit(Mid(MyNumber, 1, 1)) & " Hundred "
End If
' Convert the tens and ones place.
If Mid(MyNumber, 2, 1) <> "0" Then
Result = Result & GetTens(Mid(MyNumber, 2))
Else
Result = Result & GetDigit(Mid(MyNumber, 3))
End If
GetHundreds = Result
End Function


'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
' Converts a number from 10 to 99 into text.
Function GetTens(TensText)
'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
Dim Result As String
Result = "" ' Null out the temporary function value.
If Val(Left(TensText, 1)) = 1 Then ' If value between 10-19...
Select Case Val(TensText)
Case 10: Result = "Ten"
Case 11: Result = "Eleven"
Case 12: Result = "Twelve"
Case 13: Result = "Thirteen"
Case 14: Result = "Fourteen"
Case 15: Result = "Fifteen"
Case 16: Result = "Sixteen"
Case 17: Result = "Seventeen"
Case 18: Result = "Eighteen"
Case 19: Result = "Nineteen"
Case Else
End Select
Else ' If value between 20-99...
Select Case Val(Left(TensText, 1))
Case 2: Result = "Twenty "
Case 3: Result = "Thirty "
Case 4: Result = "Forty "
Case 5: Result = "Fifty "
Case 6: Result = "Sixty "
Case 7: Result = "Seventy "
Case 8: Result = "Eighty "
Case 9: Result = "Ninety "
Case Else
End Select
Result = Result & GetDigit _
(Right(TensText, 1)) ' Retrieve ones place.
End If
GetTens = Result
End Function


'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
' Converts a number from 1 to 9 into text.
Function GetDigit(Digit)
'-----------------------------------------------------------*------
Select Case Val(Digit)
Case 1: GetDigit = "One"
Case 2: GetDigit = "Two"
Case 3: GetDigit = "Three"
Case 4: GetDigit = "Four"
Case 5: GetDigit = "Five"
Case 6: GetDigit = "Six"
Case 7: GetDigit = "Seven"
Case 8: GetDigit = "Eight"
Case 9: GetDigit = "Nine"
Case Else: GetDigit = ""
End Select
End Function

'-----------------------------------------------------------*------

yogeshwarv
04-11-2006, 11:04 PM
Thanks for your so quick reply,

You are really mind blowing.
it solved my problem, but there is little problem with the code.

value 100000 returns to Rupees "One Lakh Zero" and it should return to "One Lakh" Only. By the way this code is very much precious for me.

kindly help to remove the "zero" word from conversion result.

Thanks again for your kind help, XLD

Regards

Yogeshwar

yogeshwarv
04-12-2006, 12:00 AM
Hi,

I am very sorry to disturb you again sir,

This is working wornderful. I did not go thru with the code thoroughly. it is my mistake.

I have no words how to thank you but anyways, thank you very much for your favourable help.:thumb :beerchug:

I will always keep this code in my vba code liabrary.


Regards

Yogeshwar:cool:

Bob Phillips
04-12-2006, 12:48 AM
My version shows

Rupees One Lakh Zero and Paise Zero Only

Are you sorted now, or do you still need the first Zero removing?

yogeshwarv
04-12-2006, 10:47 PM
I needed the First Zero removing which I have sorted out.

Thanks again for your Great Help Sir,


Yogeshwar