PDA

View Full Version : Linking to a lot of excel files

idoav
04-23-2006, 12:54 AM
Hello all.
I have got some excel work to that will be really tough done manually, but should be really simple done by a macro. The problem is I have no experience working in VBA so even the simple commands aer tough for me. I'd appriciate any help possible.
The problem is that I have 13 different excel files, all in the same template. I want to build a main file, holding links to all the other files data. (e.g. 'c:\f\[1.xls]Sheet1'A* etc. since the data in the 13 files might change in the future.)
I need to take all the 13 files A columns and put a link to them in columns A-M of the new file(each column linking to A column of a different file). then, I need to take all the B columns of those 13 files and put them in N-Z columns of the new files, etc. I have 10 columns in each of the 13 files (columns A-J). All columns are numbers. each column has 20 rows.

Thank you very much for your help,
Ido.

John_Mc
04-23-2006, 10:59 PM
Hi Idoav,

i'm sure there is a better way ....but if nothing else presents itself....:dunno

You could try simply entering the links for your first column into your master version as normal (hit =, then click in the cell a1 in the file you want to link to) . Then dragging the formulas down to complete the first column.

Copy and paste the first colmn into the next master sheet columns

Then, use the edit menu / find and replace to change the links (formulas) on a large scale.

So find "c/mydocs/file1" and run replace all for "c/mydocs/file2"

You may also change for the column destination (a to b, to c etc)

This will be a bit manual, but easier than phycially entering each spreadsheet, creating the link and copying the range down the column as normal.

As i said, there may be a better way, but this will work.

John Mc

idoav
04-25-2006, 05:12 AM
Thank you.
That what I thought to do, but still I feel like there should have been a better simply-coded solution.