PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Copy Selected Rows to Chosen Sheet

Shaolin1976
05-03-2006, 03:57 AM
Hi,

I'm new to VBA and have run into a slight problem that I was hoping someone might help me out with. I am trying to copy the selected rows from one sheet (MASTER) to the next available blank row in a choice of other sheets a,b,c etc. I have a cell in the MASTER sheet (C1) in which I designate the destination sheet to copy the rows to. My code is as follows:
Private Sub CopyRows_Click()
Worksheets("MASTER").Select
Selection.Rows.Copy
DestinationSheet = Worksheets("MASTER").Range("C1")
NextBlankRow = Sheets(DestinationSheet).Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row + 1
Sheets(DestinationSheet).Rows(NextBlankRow).PasteSpecial
End SubThis throws up an error:

Run-time error '9':

Subscript out of rangeThe Code works fine when I remove the variable DestinationSheet and simply replace it with "a" i.e.
Private Sub CopyRows_Click()
Selection.Rows.Copy
NextBlankRow = Sheets("a").Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row + 1
Sheets("a").Rows(NextBlankRow).PasteSpecial
End SubI'm sure it is a simple thing to correct but I can't seem to find the answer in the excel help files. If I had managed to get this working easily enough then my next stage was to try and substitute Cell C1 with a List Box of available sheets to copy to but this is problem enough I think! Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Shaolin

OBP
05-03-2006, 05:05 AM
It works fine for me, except that it pastes the copied data right across the row repeating it until it fills the entire row.
That suggests that the entry in C1 is not the name of a valid Sheet as it worked with both Sheet3 and a as the entry for me.

ALe
05-03-2006, 05:32 AM
Destinationsheet=Worksheets("MASTER")

ALe
05-03-2006, 05:36 AM
Sorry.

ALe
05-03-2006, 05:37 AM
Try this:

Private Sub CopyRows()
Dim DestinationSheet As String

Selection.Rows.Copy
DestinationSheet = Worksheets("MASTER").Range("C1").Value