PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Run VBA from imported module

mvidas
05-10-2006, 07:09 AM
Hi All,

I'm trying to import a vba module at runtime, and run the sub "Main" (no arguments) in that module.

I'm a noob with access, can someone please explain what I'm missing?
With VBE.ActiveVBProject.VBComponents.Import("C:\foldername\somename.bas")
Application.Run .Name & ".Main"
VBE.ActiveVBProject.VBComponents.Remove VBE.ActiveVBProject.VBComponents(.Name)
End WithIf I remove the ".Name & " part of application.run, it works (as long as only one of the existing modules has a 'main' sub), but I can't be sure that is the case every time. I can't change the subroutine names, so I've got to stick with Main. The above logic works in excel, but not access.

Any help?
Thanks!
Matt

Norie
05-10-2006, 09:27 AM
Matt

What is .Name actually referring to?

mvidas
05-10-2006, 10:17 AM
The .Name is referring to the module name of the newly imported module. So if it were Module31, it would be the same as runningApplication.Run "Module31.Main"Which is where my problem with access VBA seems to be (since that doesnt work like I think it should)

Norie
05-10-2006, 01:06 PM
Matt

I can't even get this to work after importing the module.

Application.Run "Module3.Main"

I'm sure it's something simple that's missing but I can't think what.

I'm just off now but I'll have another go later.

By the way what are you actually trying to do?

Could there be another approach?

mvidas
05-10-2006, 01:24 PM
I can't figure out why it isn't working either, I'm at the same point you are.

If you can think of a better way, I'd love to hear it, here's the backstory. This isn't for me, just trying to help someone out.
There are a number of .bas files received, each with a "Main" subroutine that has no arguments.
The .bas file to import depends on some query results, and unfortunately there are too many to hardcode or to have completely imported into the db file (plus, new ones are received regularly).