PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Checkbox madness

lacviet2005
05-19-2006, 02:39 PM
Dear all,
I have 2 identical spreadsheets (attached file). One with a lot of checkboxes (from control toolbox) for columns and rows and the other is where the value returns as ?1? if any checkboxes on Sheet1 are checked (exact same position). I can get it to work if writing vba code to every single checkbox. That?s painful. :banghead:
Is there a method to combine all the codes together?
Can somebody help me with this or point me to the right direction.

Thanks.

P.S. I'm very new with VBA, be gentle!:whistle:

XLGibbs
05-19-2006, 05:44 PM
Possibly, but perhaps there is a more efficient way to do what is needed...why do you need the second sheet, and what is the purpose of populating the corresponding cells with "1". It is likely you can achieve similar desired results using code and just the checkboxes...

lucas
05-19-2006, 08:15 PM
This might be easier....see attachment
ps. I only did the first one for you

lenze
05-20-2006, 09:45 AM
I hate working with check boxes so I avoid them whenever possible. Attached is a sample of what I often use in place of checkboxes. It is based on the Before_DoubleClick event. Maybe you will find this useful.

lenze

lacviet2005
05-21-2006, 03:11 PM
Thanks all for your replies. Awesome!!!

geekgirlau
05-22-2006, 02:23 AM
Do you want to mark this thread as "Solved"? If so, just go to "Thread Tools" at the top of the screen.

lacviet2005
05-22-2006, 10:10 AM
Hi Lenze,
I used your method....but this thing comes up "Run-time error '1004': Method 'Range' of object'_Worksheet' failed" and I hit debug button, it hightlights this line: "If Intersect(Target, Range("boxes")) Is Nothing Then"

Your codes:
Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Intersect(Target, Range("boxes")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
Target.Font.Name = "marlett"
If Target.Value <> "a" Then
Application.EnableEvents = False