PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Importing SQL Server Tables Using Transferdatabase

bldial
05-31-2006, 09:51 AM
I am trying to create a form that will allow users to import a table from our SQL Server database into Access. As I am relatively new to VBA programming in Access I tried to start simple to see how this works. My code is as follows:

Private Sub Command0_Click()

DoCmd.TransferDatabase acImport, "ODBC database", "ODBC;DSN='Data Set Name'; uid='User1'; database='dbname'", acTable, "dbo.table1", "tablename"

End Sub

I am getting "The ODBC database type isn't an installed database type or doesn't support the operation you chose." as an error message. Are there certain references I should have checked for this to work? I know the ODBC connection is good because I can manually import the desired tables. Also, I'm using Office 2003 and Windows XP. Any help would be much appreciated. :banghead:

stanl
05-31-2006, 11:12 AM
First, you can check for the SQL server driver by locating your ODBC data sources in Control Panel - should look something like attached jpg. Next, based on my [albeit limited] experience, you might be better off using ADO or OLEDB [and possibly use MSDE as middleware as it was designed to bridge Access/SQL Server.

Next, what if you just try to manually link your tables to Access?

Stan

bldial
05-31-2006, 11:32 AM
Thanks, Stan. The driver is there and I've tried using both ADO and OLEDB (although I may have had them checked at the same time which could cause conflicts?) I haven't considered using MSDE and will give that a try. I could do this manually but would like to create a less user-hostile utility for importing newly created tables for people with very limited software skills.

XLGibbs
05-31-2006, 03:45 PM