PDA

View Full Version : Characteristics of an Invisible Sheet

Cyberdude
05-31-2006, 01:32 PM
I just started playing with making a worksheet invisible, then making it reappear again. I'm having trouble finding a discussion of this property. It appears (so to speak) that a hidden sheet cannot be tampered with. For example, I discovered that after hiding a sheet, I was unable to ".Select" it. I presume that I also cannot write on it. So I guess that once a sheet is made "invisible", then it is out of the game until it is made visible again. Is that correct?

I run a series of macros each of which works on a workbook that has been opened. When near the end of execution, each macro in turn will open the next workbook, "Run" a macro in that workbook for initialization, then close the workbook to which it belongs.

This transition period involving the initialization causes a lot of flashing and brief sheet viewing as it changes from one workbook to another and does a few things to various sheets in the next workbook. I thought that maybe I could make the worksheets being initialized invisible and thereby reduce or eliminate the flashing and brief viewing of those sheets. It appears that I won't be able to do that once the sheet is hidden ... true??

mdmackillop
05-31-2006, 01:40 PM
Hi Sid,
There are different degrees of invisibility
Sheets(1).Visible = False
Sheets(2).Visible = xlVeryHidden
which could also affect what you're trying to do.
Regards
Malcolm

Cyberdude
05-31-2006, 02:01 PM
Hi, Malcolm! Thanks for the reply. I read the Help and it showed those states, but it didn't elaborate on what can and can't be done with a hidden sheet. The "xlVeryHidden" condition looked a tad scary, so I didn't mess with that. I just used ".Visible = False/True".

Is there also a way to make a window visible/invisible? Maybe that has some possibilities. I couldn't find anything about hiding windows, but I'm almost sure I saw someone do that somewhere.