PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Create New Collection

jmenche
06-06-2006, 07:55 AM
Howdy,

I have a bunch of sheets in a workbook. I want to perform certain actions (protection, recalcs, etc.) only on certain sheets. I know the best way would be to create a new collection, add the worksheet names, and then loop through the collection to perform my tasks. This would also help with errors if users rearrange sheets (I use the index now). However, I am a novice and need a little guidance on how to do.

Any help is greatly appreciated.:beerchug:

Killian
06-06-2006, 08:29 AM
Hi there,

A couple of key things to remember about collections:
Maye sure you use the "New" keyword in the declaration or when you first set the object variable
Manage the scope so you have access to it when you want to use it. The following basic example has the collection declared in the routine - the narrowest scope. It's more likely that you will want to declare it at module level so that you can write othe routines to use it. Likewise, you may want to make it global so it can be used across the whole project.Sub temp()
Dim ws As Worksheet
Dim colMySheets As New Collection
Dim str As String

'add any sheet with "copy" in its name
'to the new collection
For Each ws In ActiveWorkbook.Sheets
If InStr(ws.Name, "copy") > 0 Then
colMySheets.Add ws
End If
Next ws

'show names of sheets in new collection
For Each ws In colMySheets
str = str & ws.Name & vbLf
Next ws
MsgBox str
End SubHope that's some help...

jmenche
06-06-2006, 08:43 AM
Thanks Killian!

Where do I put it to make it global?

jmenche
06-06-2006, 09:16 AM
Another question.

How would I write the global sub if I have a set list of worksheets that I want to declare in a collection? Assume I want to add Sheet1 and Sheet2 into a new collection.

Thanks again.

Killian
06-07-2006, 05:10 AM
You make a global variable by declaring it as Public at the start of a standard module (outside any routines)Public colMySheets As New Collection