PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Excel macro question: matching text to numeral value & inserting the numerals + more!

Rachel_C
06-09-2006, 06:43 PM
Hi,

First of all, I love this site & thanks to all the creators behind this, and all the helpful & very knowledgeable posters!

I better start by saying I am a big big novice to excel macros and VBA...!
Also, my query may have been answered somewhere along the line, but I have had a fair bit of a look ... maybe it's also a case of not really having a totally good grasp on what I am trying to do...! but any help would be greatly appreciated...! (including 'ahhh this thread answers your query! ;))

Ok, I have attached a dummy file, and I'll also explain what I am trying to do below...

I want to be able to enter text in a cell ('value') and have it match a two digit numeral code ('code') on a seperate sheet, within the same workbook and insert that two digit code into the previous column. There would be 20 codes, possibly more over time ...

I don't really know if that is at all possible, but it would be bloody handy if it is...!

Pls feel free to ask for further clarification on what it is I am actually trying to do...!

Cheers,

Rachel

mdmackillop
06-10-2006, 10:57 AM
Hi Rachel,
Welcome to VBAX and thanks for the comments.
Here's the code for a VBA solution, you can see its application in the attached file.

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Column = 3 Then
On Error Resume Next
Target.Offset(, -1) = Sheets("Code Key").Columns(2).Find(What:=Target, _
MatchCase:=False).Offset(, -1)
End If
If Err > 0 Then MsgBox ("Code not found")
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

A simpler way to do this though would be using VLOOKUP as shown in B2:B5, if you add the code to the right of the Key (could be hidden)
=VLOOKUP(C2,'Code key'!B:C,2,FALSE)

Regards
MD

Rachel_C
06-10-2006, 07:04 PM
Hi mdmackillop!