PDA

View Full Version : Count Rows

Djblois
06-12-2006, 10:46 AM
One last thing everyone, I added the for loop in but since the file can sometimes be very small and sometimes it can be very large I put in:

For I = 1 to 65556

This way it always looks at the whole file. I would like to speed it up since I am using that code in a few times. I know it is possible to count the amount of rows and then use that number to replace 65556 but I don't know how. Sorry, if I am being a pest but I am a beginner at VBA and I have 2 books on it that are good but they are both missing alot. If anyone can recommend an excellent book that has a lot of VBA code in it that would help also.

Daniel

Bob Phillips
06-12-2006, 10:59 AM
For i = 1 To Cells(Rows.Count,"A").End(xlUp).Row

Djblois
06-19-2006, 09:01 AM
Ok after I count the rows I would like to use it to specify the range from the 1st cell to the last one it counted. How can I do this?

Daniel

johnske
06-19-2006, 02:31 PM
Ok after I count the rows I would like to use it to specify the range from the 1st cell to the last one it counted. How can I do this?

Daniel
Option Explicit

Sub A()
Range(Cells(1, "A").End(xlDown), Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp)).Select
End Sub
OR
Option Explicit

Sub B()
Range(Range("A1").End(xlDown), Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp)).Select
End Sub

Djblois
06-20-2006, 07:36 AM
John thank you but I would like to count it once and you use the count multiple times on different columns. Can you please help with that?
Thank you,
Daniel

johnske
06-20-2006, 08:10 AM

DanielSorry, I was answering the question above, where I took 'specify' to mean 'refer to' or 'reference'...