PDA

View Full Version : Removing multiple booksmarks from one combobox selection

cfbrian
06-13-2006, 09:21 PM
Hi
I have a document that has a few topics of related information, grouped in pasages spread over the entire text (similar information but in different wording). If I want to use a certain topic, I would have to go through the entire text to delete the unrelated passages. It is quite tedious!!

I have created a combobox with 5 items, relating to the 5 topics. My intention is, when I pick one of the selection, click 'OK' the code will go through the document and delete all the text that does not pertain to the wanted selection.

I have placed enclosed books throughout the document. As far as I know, even with similar topics, I have to name them different e.g. Jupiter_1, Jupiter_2. (I am a newbie, please advise if I can do it differently.)

Also, how do I write the code to delete all the bookmarks without having to spell out the different bookmarks repeatedly :

With ActiveDocument
If ComboBoxApplication.Value = "Mars" Then
Selection.GoTo What:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:="Jupiter_1"
Selection.Delete
End If
End With

If ComboBoxApplication.Value = "Mars" Then
Selection.GoTo What:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:="Jupiter_2"
Selection.Delete
End If
End With

Thanks

fumei
06-14-2006, 03:07 AM
True. Separate distinct bookmarks 9a s they are Range objects) must be explicitly named. So.

A chunk of text bookmarked as Jupiter_1
A chunk of text bookmarked as Jupiter_2
A chunk of text bookmarked as Jupiter_3
A chunk of text bookmarked as Jupiter_4

You want to delete all the bookmarks relating to Jupiter.

Have your combobox pass the topic to delete to a Sub, like:Sub DeleteTopic(strBM As String)
Dim oBM As Word.Bookmark
For Each oBM in ActiveDocument.Bookmarks
If Left(oBM.Name, Len(strBM) = strBM Then
oBM.Range.Delete
End If
Next
End Sub

You pass the parameter to the Sub from the combobox, assuming that you will do this with a commandbutton.Sub CommandButton_Click()