PDA

View Full Version : Looping



Alvinkiang
06-22-2006, 05:30 PM
hi, i i have 10 data in a col and i want to have a loop to read till the ten col finish and extract specific data name only, how can i mae the loop??? data might increase

lucas
06-22-2006, 06:32 PM
to use this:
it is set up now to search column A
put the search string in cell C1
don't remember where I came across this. I think its from Johns 1 line find kb entry

Option Explicit
Sub GoToFnd()
Dim c As Range, FirstFound As String
Set c = Range("A:A").Find(what:=[C1], after:=[A1])
FirstFound = c.Address
c.Activate
Do Until MsgBox("Look for next", vbYesNo) = vbNo
Set c = Range("A:A").Find(what:=[C1], after:=c)
If c.Address = FirstFound Then
MsgBox "No more " & [C1]
Exit Sub
End If
c.Activate
Loop
End Sub

Alvinkiang
06-22-2006, 08:28 PM
to use this:
it is set up now to search column A
put the search string in cell C1
don't remember where I came across this. I think its from Johns 1 line find kb entry

Option Explicit
Sub GoToFnd()
Dim c As Range, FirstFound As String
Set c = Range("A:A").Find(what:=[C1], after:=[A1])
FirstFound = c.Address
c.Activate
Do Until MsgBox("Look for next", vbYesNo) = vbNo
Set c = Range("A:A").Find(what:=[C1], after:=c)
If c.Address = FirstFound Then
MsgBox "No more " & [C1]
Exit Sub
End If
c.Activate
Loop
End Sub


i think this loop is searching for a data name in the column... but wat if i have repeat name?? and i dunno how many of it i have as data is too much??

acw
06-22-2006, 08:58 PM
Hi

???Perhaps related to
http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8514


Tony

Alvinkiang
06-22-2006, 09:12 PM
Hi

???Perhaps related to
http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8514


Tony

i did... but that was a infinite loop... and if i have only 5 of that name, it will loop all the was till my com can't move... it will add and add and add... the findadd nv matches the findit..

acw
06-22-2006, 09:26 PM
Hi

Interesting. Didn't for me.

Open the 2 attached files. In Alvinkiang, run the macro runform. Enter aa into the textbox, then press the button. The 4 entries for aa should be brought across from Alvinkiang2.xls

Tony

Alvinkiang
06-22-2006, 11:03 PM
Hi

Interesting. Didn't for me.

Open the 2 attached files. In Alvinkiang, run the macro runform. Enter aa into the textbox, then press the button. The 4 entries for aa should be brought across from Alvinkiang2.xls

Tony

hmmm... i think something is wrong with wat i have done...
Sorry for that tony...