PDA

View Full Version : formatting tables in Word

eed
09-03-2004, 08:18 AM
Hey, all,

I have an html document (a table) which I am opening in Word 2000. I can perform all the normal, manual table modifications (deleting rows, resizing columns). I would like to be able to do these mods programmatically.

I normally use the macro recorder in Word and then edit the macros as necessary, because I'm actually an Access VBA programmer and don't always know how to phrase my commands in Word. However, the macro recorder will not let me resize table columns!

Can you select a table and modify the column widths through VBA in Word? What would the proper command syntax be? Thanks in advance for any help! :blush

Anne Troy
09-03-2004, 09:03 AM
When in doubt, record!

Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
' Macro recorded 9/3/2004 by Anne Troy
'
Selection.Tables(1).Columns(1).PreferredWidthType = wdPreferredWidthPoints
Selection.Tables(1).Columns(1).PreferredWidth = InchesToPoints(2)
Selection.Move Unit:=wdColumn, Count:=1
Selection.SelectColumn
Selection.Columns.PreferredWidthType = wdPreferredWidthPoints
Selection.Columns.PreferredWidth = InchesToPoints(2)
Selection.SelectColumn
Selection.SelectColumn
Selection.SelectColumn
End Sub

Of course, that's recorded junk, but if you're a programmer, you ought to be able to figure it out? I hope!

:D

Anne Troy
09-03-2004, 09:04 AM
Doh! Sorry. You DID try recording. Wonder why it didn't work for ya?

eed
09-03-2004, 09:09 AM
Doh! Sorry. You DID try recording. Wonder why it didn't work for ya?
I don't know, my cursor turned into a cassette tape icon and I couldn't really do anything with my mouse inside the table (couldn't click into a new cell, select rows, grab columns, etc.). I could navigate around with the arrow keys, but couldn't find a way to grab the columns using the keyboard. Anyway, the code you pasted looks great, and I'm pretty sure I'll be able to modify it to match my uses. If I have any problems, I'll let you know. Thanks!!!