PDA

View Full Version : search inbox emails, report string

peersu
07-06-2006, 07:30 AM
Hey guys,

I'm very new to VBA; what I am looking for however is a script that will search my inbox and generate a report containing the Recipient, E-mail address of recipient, and a string such as 'SDFSD3523S' from inside the text of the e-mail.

The search itself is relating to e-mails with "Undeliverable" in the subject field. For those e-mails with "Undeliverable" in their subject field, I need a list of the information listed above.

Ideally that list would be deliminated tab, or exported to an excel spreadsheet.

ATM, I am reading everything, everywhere, to try and figure this out. Just wondering if anyone has any input to pseudocode or logic, or even code that performs a similar search function would help.

Thanks guys ;)

Killian
07-06-2006, 04:23 PM
Hi and welcome to VBAX :hi:

It's easy enough in principle, but I have a couple of questions...
First, the priniple.
Step 1:
Open the VBE (Alt+F11), add a new module and paste in the routine below. It's a script that accepts a mailitem object as an argument, extracts the info and writes a comma delimited list that you can open in Excel.Sub LogUndeliverable(m As MailItem)

Dim f
Dim s As String
Const LOGFILE As String = "C:\TEMP\Undeliverable.CSV"

s = m.To & "," & "Some other text"
f = FreeFile
Open LOGFILE For Output As f
Print #f, s
Close #f

End Sub
Step 2:
In Outlook, use the Rules Wizard to create a rule: "check all new mail", "for a specific word in the subject" and "run a script".

That would do it but the questions are:
The "To" field will be you - the original recipient will be somewhere in the subject or body, no?

We can get the text content of the mail with the Body property, but how are we going to identify the reference number in the resulting string?

peersu
07-07-2006, 05:11 AM
yeah i was thinking about that. in reality the identifier i need to extract is simply the recipients e-mail address.