PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Terminology Stuff

JohnnyBravo
07-06-2006, 08:19 AM
I'm just beginning to learn VBA so bear with me.

What is a "variable" and what is an "array". Now some of you have a programming background so please explain this in terms a newbie would understand. I run across these terms so often on the internet that I really need to get a solid grasp of what they mean.

http://www.informit.com/articles/article.asp?p=170285&rl=1

Just by the name alone "variable" I can only guess that it's a piece of data (number/ text) that's going to vary - but beyond that I have no clue.

OBP
07-06-2006, 08:54 AM
A Variable is a name (a memory box) that can be used to store data, it comes from the old BASIC language and was used to allocate memory to store the data. It is volatile, i.e. when you close an Access form or Excel workbook or even close a Procedure in which it is used the data is reset to blank or "Null".
There are lot's of different types of variables depending on what you want to store in them. The most common are string (text) and numeric.
They should be used with a "Dim" statement which tells the application what type of variable to expect (again from BASIC).
An array is a special variable that can contain more than one value and can also have more than one dimension.
So think of an array as a row of boxes that will contain data, a 2 dimension array will be a row of boxes with boxes stacked on top of them.
A three dimensioned array will stacked boxes more than one row deep.
I hope that gives you some idea.

lucas
07-06-2006, 08:58 AM
This is a simple example of an array defined as a Variant. As per obp's explaination you can see that the array is placed in the A1-E1 cells according to their order in the array.

Sub Sheet_Fill_Column_Headings()
Dim myarray As Variant
myarray = Array("Heading 1", "Heading 2", "Heading 3", "Heading 4", "Heading 5")
Range("a1:e1").Value = myarray
End Sub

compariniaa
07-06-2006, 09:23 AM