PDA

View Full Version : Increase font size by 1pt and Page Break

JohnnyBravo
07-07-2006, 01:33 PM
I've been told the Range is much better to use in VBA coding (rather than the "Selection" method). So I tried to scrounge up some examples on Google but being a VBA newbie, I have been unsuccessful so far. My botched example below is not working. I probably have the wrong syntax on creating the page break as desired. What do I need to change. Also can anyone help w/ the font issue? Thanks in advance.

Sub Increase_FontSize()
'
' Increase_FontSize Macro
' Macro recorded 7/7/2006 by John
'
ActiveDocument.PageSetup.TopMargin = InchesToPoints(0.8)
ActiveDocument.PageSetup.LeftMargin = InchesToPoints(0.81)
ActiveDocument.PageSetup.RightMargin = InchesToPoints(0.71)
ActiveDocument.Frames.Delete
Selection.WholeStory
With Selection.Font
.Grow
' I need VBA to detect whatever the current font size is and
' increase it by 1 pt
End With
ActiveDocument.Range.EndOf (wdWholeStory)
.InsertBreak Type:=wdPageBreak
Selection.TypeParagraph
Selection.TypeParagraph
End Sub

fumei
07-08-2006, 12:15 AM
Please, when you have something "not working", we need to know what it IS doing.
I have been unsuccessful so far. My botched example below is not working.
Selection.WholeStory
With Selection.Font
.Grow
' I need VBA to detect whatever the current font size is and
' increase it by 1 pt
End With OK, you have selected the entire document. If there is even ONE font size change, you will NOT be able to detect the font size. You can easily find out the selection font size;MsgBox Selection.Font.Sizebut if there is any changes of font size within the selection it comes back as 999999 - or..."how the heck do I know? WHICH ONE????"

So. You select the entire document. Is the ENTIRE document one font size? If so, then you can progress with this.