PDA

View Full Version : AutoExec Module and Syntax Stuff

JohnnyBravo
07-18-2006, 12:47 AM
I picked up a book on the basics of VBA. One of the examples the author gives is opening a document from the 'Recent Files' list. It is as follows:

("Absolute Beginner's Guide to VBA" - Paul McFedries. Pg. 113. Que Books. 1994)

Sub Main()
With RecentFiles(1)
Documents.Open .Path & "\" & .Name
End With
End Sub
The author states if you want it to run automatically when Word starts, save the routine in a new module called AutoExec. This part I can intuitively understand. It's something that's going to automatically execute Word is opened. OK But I noticed a few pecularities.

One is that when I changed the macro name to something else say "OpenRecent_Files" for example, the macro does not get automatically triggered. Obviously the word Main itself has special meaning to VBA. Is it like naming a macro "AutoRun"? And are there other similar "trigger" words like it?

#2) Why is there a space in between .Open .Path???

#3) I don't understand why he has .Path and .Name. I thought that to get the property .Fullname provides you with both the document path & name.

So I changed his routine to:

Sub OpenRecent_Document()
With RecentFiles(1)
'Documents.Open .Path & "\" & .Name
Documents.Open .FullName
End With
End Sub
And of course as a young grasshoppa - I was proven wrong! So what gives?

fumei
07-18-2006, 08:35 AM
Johnny, Johnny, Johnny.

First off...good on you for going for it.

Second...I DO hope you have IntelliSense turned on. If you do,Sub OpenRecent_Document()
With RecentFiles(1)
MsgBox .FullName
End With
End Subwhat happens when you type in that dot - below "Msgbox FullName" - which I will get to??

You get (if you have IntelliSense on) a drop down list of all properties and method of the object. In this case, the object is RecentFiles(1).