PDA

View Full Version : Excel to Word - generating a report

imru
08-13-2006, 09:12 PM
Hello...I've been given a task to use microsoft technologies (specifically word, excel and VBA...I'm a Java developer so I don't have a complete understanding of VBA).

I have an Excel Workbook with about 9 sheets in it. These sheets are populated via a CSV file I export from Word (it's a survey...an answer of "A" = 4 points and so on). I need to generate reports in Word based on the data in the excel sheets.

I have a master template document with bookmarks for the dynamic data, however I cannot seem to find how to do the following:

Based on the data in Excel I need to insert text (this text is stored in a bunch of different files) into the bookmark locations in Word. I have found many examples doing this using Access...however while that is a good solution to my task, that is not something I am able to do. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Steve

fumei
08-13-2006, 09:42 PM
First off, if you want to have the text-into-bookmark dynamic you need to recreate the bookmark. Normally, people use Bookmark.Range.Text = "blah blah". This does NOT put the text into the bookmark range.
Bookmark.Range.Text = "blah blah" will do this.

[Bookmark]blah blah

Bookmark("ThisOne").Range.Text = "blah blah"
Bookmark("ThisOne").Range.Text = "blah2 blah2" will do this:

[Bookmark]blah2 blah2blah blah

In other words, it will append, not replace.Sub FillABookmark(strBM_Name As String, strBM_Text As String)
Dim oBM As Bookmarks
Set oBM = ActiveDocument.Bookmarks
With Selection
.GoTo what:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:=strBM_Name
.Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd
oBM(strBM_Name).Range.Text = strBM_Text
.MoveEnd unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=Len(strBM_Text)
oBM.Add _
Name:=strBM_Name, Range:=Selection.Range
.Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd
End With
Set oBM = Nothing