PDA

View Full Version : Copy formula with relative cell references

dmkitz
09-22-2006, 01:47 PM
Sorry to be so helpless -- I am NOT a programmer. A programmer wannabe, maybe. In Excel 2000. I need a macro that will:
1) insert a row above the current selection (I can do that)
2) Copy the formula, from above, down into the cell of the newly inserted row -- that's what I need help with.

I used:

Selection.Copy
Selection.EntireRow.Insert
Selection.Offset(0, 1).Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlFormulas, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks:= _
False, Transpose:=False

The cell references don't change like they would if you just grabbed the cell handle and copied down on the actual sheet itself.
Thank you.

Bob Phillips
09-22-2006, 02:13 PM
With Selection.EntireRow
.Copy
.Insert
.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlFormulas
End With

dmkitz
09-22-2006, 02:50 PM
Thanks, but it pasted the same cell references into the new cell that it copied from the copied cell. If the copied cell refers to A1, I need the reference in the pasted cell to be B1. There must be a way?

This is the code I need to copy:

=IF('[FDS REWORK IP.xls]Financial Statement'!A160="","",'[FDS REWORK IP.xls]
Financial Statement'!A160&" "&'[FDS REWORK IP.xls]Financial Statement'!D160)

lucas
09-22-2006, 05:53 PM
Bob gave you a solution....you must have missed something because it works for me.

click on or (select) one of the cells in row 1....hit the button...check the formula in cell c2 and compare it to c1.

see attached with Bobs code

dmkitz
09-22-2006, 07:43 PM