PDA

View Full Version : Looping Theory/Deeper Explanation

YellowLabPro
09-29-2006, 01:38 AM
I have some basic questions/thoughts regarding Loops. I am still trying to understand this function fully.

When thinking about the way a loop actually works, does the loop, loop through the code, the range or a combination of both?

Meaning, does the code bounce from the code to the sheet, back to the code and so on until the code finishes running based on the instructions. Or does the code get read once and then retained in memory, heads off to the sheet and follows the instructions from the code in one continous motion?

I hope this makes sense....

Thanks,

YLP

mdmackillop
09-29-2006, 04:24 AM
Hi Yelp,
I'm no expert here, but I would surmise a For Each cel in Range will read in the range and "remember" it. For i = 1 to 10 type will need to look at each Cells(i,1) reference in turn. The former should therefor be more efficient and quicker.

YellowLabPro
09-29-2006, 05:17 AM
Sorry MD, I am not clear on your explanation... can you try it again?

mvidas
09-29-2006, 07:40 AM
Meaning, does the code bounce from the code to the sheet, back to the code and so on until the code finishes running based on the instructions. Or does the code get read once and then retained in memory, heads off to the sheet and follows the instructions from the code in one continous motion?
Yelps,
I think you might be a little confused, as the code never actually 'goes' to the sheet or anything, you can just control the excel object through code. I'm guessing I missed an earlier thread on the subject. But yes, the code will be retained in memory (for the most part), it is compiled before being run.