PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Using the AND command



Tenspeed39355
09-20-2004, 07:39 AM
Could someone please show me how to use the AND command.
I have tried the following but I must be leaving something out.
=AND(O2="down",M2="up") Both O2 and M2 should equal a TRUE. What am I doing
wrong. Thanks
Max :hi:

WillR
09-20-2004, 08:15 AM
Nothing wrong with that formula

It will return TRUE if the value in O2 is "down" & the value in M2 is "up"

FALSE if either or both are not

Zack Barresse
09-20-2004, 08:41 AM
Hi,

Are you sure you want an AND and not an OR statement? How about posting your entire formula along with what data your attempting to manipulate. You can upload zipped attachments of your file if you'd like.

(Hi Will! Still feeding the penguin I hope! ;) )

mvidas
09-20-2004, 09:13 AM
You may want to try:

=AND(upper(O2)="DOWN",upper(M2)="UP")

That just ignores the case in O2 and M2. Not sure if that's the issue, but I can't think of what else the issue is, why it wouldn't return TRUE if o2 is "down" and m2 is "up"
Matt

mdmackillop
09-20-2004, 09:31 AM
A couple of simple examples
MD

CBrine
09-20-2004, 12:12 PM
Another Option that might help is the trim.


=AND(upper(trim(O2))="DOWN",upper(trim(M2))="UP")


HTH

Tenspeed39355
09-20-2004, 01:53 PM
Thanks guys for the super replys. I have the formula working now.

Max

Zack Barresse
09-20-2004, 02:07 PM
Thanks guys for the super replys. I have the formula working now.

Max

Great!

Just wrought out of curiosity, what was the problem, and the formula used to fix?

Tenspeed39355
09-20-2004, 04:03 PM
Firefytr
In my first post I said the following.
=AND(O2="down",M2="up") Both O2 and M2 should equal a TRUE. What am I doing
wrong. Thanks
I said a misstatement. In my ss I had =AND(O2="FALSE". When I changed it to "down" that fixed the problem. Sorry for the confusion.
Max:hi: