PDA

View Full Version : Problems with running macros

Saquiwej
10-11-2006, 05:15 AM
I have the following problem: I have been programming in VBA for a good while as a hobbyist so I am not an absolute beginner, my problem might appear a simple one anyway, if you know the answer to it. I am writing VBA code for Word at the moment. I'll use the macro for automatically formatting books downloaded from electronic libraries so as to afford a pleasant reading experience etc.. I am developing the code in a separate document called NovelForm, so that I might run it from any other documents I want to format. I considered to transfer the module into Normal.dot, but my experience is that in the phase of development it?s better to store macros in a usual workbook, because I don?t make backup copies of Normal.dot and if it gets deleted I would lose my macros. So, whenever I want to format a book, I have to open NovelForm and run the macro from there. Normally I did it so that I activated the document to be formatted and from the Visual Basic toolbar ran the formatting macro. Lately, however, I just can?t access the macros of other documents. The only macros I can reach from any documents are those stored in Normal.dot. So that the only way for me to run a macro kept in another file is to run it from the VBE editor, which is a bit annoying. I tried to establish references between the documents (VBE > Tools > References) and the file with the macros, but it won?t help. In the Run Macro dialog no other documents are visible apart from the active document and Normal. I tried also to put a command button on some of the toolbars, to run the macro from there, but it can?t be done either; in the Tools > Customize > Commands > Macros panel no macros are visible., the panel is dead. What exasperates me in particular, is that I have been running macros between documents for years without problems. Yesterday it was possible, today it isn?t, in the same files. Maybe I inadvertently changed s